Simon G Levy

Consultant Eye Surgeon
Reassuring Personal Care - Advanced Technology - Specialist Cataract and Refractive surgeon

Testimonials

The results of the procedure on my eyes have had the most wonderful results

‘The results of the procedure on my eyes have had the most wonderful results. I find I can now drive at night without any problem of oncoming lights … “wonderful”.’

Before I came into hospital to have my eyes seen to I was very nervous and on edge but you and your team made me feel very relaxed and comfortable and I am very happy with the result

‘Thank you for all your care and attention during my eye surgery and also your after care. Before I came into hospital to have my eyes seen to I was very nervous and on edge but you and your team made me feel very relaxed and comfortable and I am very happy with the result.’

‘Thank you for all your care and attention during my eye surgery and also your after care. Before I came into hospital to have my eyes seen to I was very nervous and on edge but you and your team made me feel very relaxed and comfortable and I am very happy with the result.’

To anyone who is thinking of having this done, I would say see Simon Levy and know that you would be looked after very well

Bilateral Lasik for long sight and astigmatism (Glasses prescription Right eye: +1.00/-0.50×170 Left eye: +1.50)

‘My eyesight was such that on waking my first task was to put on my glasses. I became very disappointed when I realised I would have to wear them all the time.

I decided to enquire about laser/lasik treatment and Simon was recommended by my optician, who felt that as I was older I would benefit from Consultant care rather than ‘pit stop surgery’ His expression, not mine!

I attended the consultation with a host of questions which Simon took time to answer carefully. The examination was very thorough and I felt quite confident in him and his work.

I liked the idea of the aftercare that would be available and it certainly helped to allay any fears I may have had.

The procedure was a success! To the point that 48 hours after treatment I was asked by my husband not to show off as I could now read the titles of the DVD’s on the shelf some 8 feet away!

To anyone who is thinking of having this done, I would say see Simon Levy and know that you would be looked after very well, who knows? You too may be able to show off to family and friends and ditch the glasses!’

I cannot describe how pleased I am with the results obtained from the cataract surgery you performed on both my eyes

‘I cannot describe how pleased I am with the results obtained from the cataract surgery you performed on both my eyes. With your help and recommendations I feel I made the right choice in choosing the multifocal toric lenses. I am now completely free of glasses, not even for reading. My prescription now reads +.05 and +.25 from -10.00 and -9.00 and my optician feels proud to have recommended you to me.

From my very first visit, I felt very comfortable. The actual surgery itself was as described in your website and that helped me to relax. Your update during the procedure itself was very comforting. Also after the surgery, I could call you to discuss the dryness which was a great help and the drops you prescribed helped me to overcome that.

As far as I am concerned you are a god send. For the last 40 years I have either worn lenses or glasses but even then I was not able to see the details I can now after the surgery. Thank you so much for everything. Thanks to your wonderful team too.’

Above all his most kind and friendly approach dispelled any apprehension I had about the necessary procedure. The surgery on both eyes has proved very successful resulting in good eyesight without the necessity to wear glasses

‘At the initial consultation Mr Simon Levy gave my eyes a thorough testing but above all his most kind and friendly approach dispelled any apprehension I had about the necessary procedure.

The surgery on both eyes has proved very successful resulting in good eyesight without the necessity to wear glasses.

My sincere thanks go to Mr Simon Levy for restoring my eyesight.’

Nevertheless with the assurances of Mr Levy and his team, it was successful. I am delighted with the results

‘I recently had bilateral surgery which was a little unusual (my choice). Nevertheless with the assurances of Mr Levy and his team, it was successful. I am delighted with the results.’

It is exactly a year since you performed the first operation on my cataracts and it is miraculous how well I can see without needing glasses or contact lenses

‘It is exactly a year since you performed the first operation on my cataracts and it is miraculous how well I can see without needing glasses or contact lenses.

I am most grateful to you.’

I will definitely be recommending you to anyone who asks me about laser surgery, and I am delighted that I made the right choice in having the procedure done by you

Bilateral Lasik for short sight and astigmatism (Glasses prescription Right eye: -7.25/-0.25×180 Left eye: -7.25/-0.50×150)

‘I just wanted you to know how thrilled I am at my ‘RAF fighter pilot’ standard eyesight, having recently undergone laser eye surgery with you on 11th May.

I had contemplated having the surgery for many years, but was naturally anxious and hesitant about going ahead with it and was determined to wait until I had the recommendation of someone before I chose where to have it done.

It was when I met you a couple of months ago and you dealt with an eye infection I had, and we discussed laser eye surgery, that I immediately liked your manner, your professionalism and trusted you to perform the procedure. The whole process from start to finish including the consultation, tests and booking procedure, was easy and smooth, and all the staff I dealt with – whether by phone or in person, were delightful and calmed any nerves I had.

On the day of the surgery, the team in the clinic were fantastic and made the whole morning as stress free and comfortable as possible. Most of all, I want to sincerely thank you personally for your reassurance, your sense of humour, and your full explanation of the procedure and calm manner, which gave me confidence in you and calmed my nerves from start to finish, and your professional yet friendly style which immediately put me at ease.

I will definitely be recommending you to anyone who asks me about laser surgery, and I am delighted that I made the right choice in having the procedure done by you.’

I am so thrilled with both the experience of having my cataracts treated by you, and also the outcome

‘I am so thrilled with both the experience of having my cataracts treated by you, and also the outcome. The courteous way I was treated by the entire staff and of course yourself made such a difference to me, and I can compare it to other treatment I have received elsewhere, and know that this was 1st rate. I was happy to be offered a range of implanted lenses, and visual acuities, and am happy with the monovision I chose.’

The cataract operation was painless and straightforward. Having a tooth filled is more uncomfortable than this procedure. And the end result is fabulous: Everything has become bright and clear!

‘The cataract operation was painless and straightforward. Having a tooth filled is more uncomfortable than this procedure. And the end result is fabulous: Everything has become bright and clear! Thank you Simon Levy’

Accept my heartiest appreciation thanks for successful cataract surgery

‘Dear Simon G Levy
Accept my heartiest appreciation thanks for successful cataract surgery by having new eyes.
With lots of love,
Om Shanti’

Many thanks Simon for the helpful attention and advice

‘I was very concerned that Simon was going to operate on both eyes at the same time and was very delighted with the result. I experienced no problems and was able to see within a short while and other than a short duration of discomfort, my sight became better than 20/20. Many thanks Simon for the helpful attention and advice.’

It is undoubtedly the best decision I have ever made. I still can’t believe that I don’t have to wear my lenses anymore, that I drive at night without any visual aid, and my long distance sight is now better than my kids!

Bilateral Lasik for short sight and astigmatism (Glasses prescription Right eye: -7.00/-1.00×10 Left eye: -6.50/-0.50×150)

‘I was first referred to Simon Levy by my Opticians whom I hold in very high esteem. They told me they wouldn’t refer me to anyone but him, as he was the best in the business! I was suffering from an awful eye infection which was contact lens related. Initially, it was thought by my optician that I had a foreign body in my eye which would need to be surgically removed. Simon Levy established that this wasn’t the case and that it was just a chronic eye infection. I asked Simon about the possibility of me having laser eye surgery after he had treated and cured my eye infection. He explained to me very clearly in layman terms, the pros and cons and was very honest about the process that would be carried out.

With a prescription of -6 and -6.5, I was extremely short sighted and without my lenses could see very little. I hated wearing glasses and had been pondering over having corrective eye surgery for some time. I had deliberated as I felt it hadn’t been around long enough to judge the long term effects. Simon put me at ease regarding this, explaining how long it actually had been around and how it had improved over the years.

My experience at Guildford was amazing. The actual surgery was over within about 15 minutes. There was (as he told me there would be) some pain from the actual laser – it was extreme pressure being applied and this was very uncomfortable for about 20 seconds per eye. During this time, Simon was extremely kind, reassuring and considerate to me, reassuring me that everything was fine. And it was. Five minutes after the surgery, I went into the consulting room where I read the entire letter board including the bottom line! I was declared as having 20:20 vision! Unbelievable!

It is undoubtedly the best decision I have ever made. I still can’t believe that I don’t have to wear my lenses anymore, that I drive at night without any visual aid, and my long distance sight is now better than my kids!

I do need to wear magnifiers for close up reading, but that is exactly what Simon said I would need. I love the fact that I can pop in to Vision Express and for £10 pick up a pair of +1 ready readers!

I’d have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Simon Levy.’

Simon suggested having the surgery on both eyes at the same time which worked brilliantly for me

‘I was very nervous when I was told I needed cataract surgery on both eyes. After consulting with Simon Levy, I felt completely at ease. Simon suggested having the surgery on both eyes at the same time which worked brilliantly for me. I would be more than happy to recommend the surgery to anybody. Three months later, my eyesight is superb and I am delighted with the result.’

His reassuring manner and crystal clear explanation of the procedures put me totally at ease

‘I read some of the patients comments after they were treated by Simon Levy. I was amused to find that not one of them expressed any criticism of their treatment by Simon. After I had cataract surgery on both of my eyes, I can understand why. You simply cannot fault this wonderful doctor/surgeon. His reassuring manner and crystal clear explanation of the procedures put me totally at ease. There was no pain, no discomfort during or after the operation. During the operation I could hear him telling me in a soothing voice that everything is going well, nothing to worry about. Not that I was in a position to worry about anything! The follow up consultations were very professional and thorough. Now I have great eyesight in both my eyes.’

It took only one hour to remove cataract from both eyes and replace them with two marvellous multifocal lenses that enable me to see the world in sharp focus and glorious colour … and I don’t need reading glasses!

‘I had become aware that I had cataract in both eyes and decided on multifocal intraocular lenses to potentially obviate the need for reading glasses.

I chose to consult Mr Levy not only because of his impressive professional reputation as a Consultant Ophthalmologist but also because he has the skill to perform the procedure on both eyes during the same surgical appointment.

My initial and subsequent consultations were held conveniently close to my home and all consultations have been preceded by a skilled comprehensive and thorough Optometry examination.

The surgical procedure, itself, was carried out at the Wellington Hospital under local anaesthetic. It took only one hour to remove cataract from both eyes and replace them with two marvellous multifocal lenses that enable me to see the world in sharp focus and glorious colour … and I don’t need reading glasses!

During the procedure there was, from time to time, some discomfort but never any real pain and at those times I found my hand being held by a welcoming, warm and comforting one!

My experience of cataract surgery has been absolutely positive and, in my view, Mr Levy’s reputation is well deserved.

Should you be considering cataract surgery I would suggest that you read Mr Levy’s publication, ‘Understanding Cataract.’ It will tell you everything they need to know about the procedure and post operative personal care.
Jacqueline Lockyer October 2012’

Mr Levy did an amazing procedure in replacing my lenses, and I now have better than 20+20 vision in both eyes

‘I went for a consultation with Mr Simon G Levy, and after a thorough examination it was determined that my eyesight could be improved through a lense implant procedure. I have to say that Mr Levy did an amazing procedure in replacing my lenses, and I now have better than 20+20 vision in both eyes. The recovery procedure was much better than I thought, and only minor irritation occurred for a limited period of time.

I found Mr Levy very considerate, and caring, and have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone.’

I would like to thank very for the successful operation on my cataract, it is amazing I can now see without glasses, and I am 88 years old

‘I would like to thank very for the successful operation on my cataract, it is amazing I can now see without glasses, and I am 88 years old.’

This is to give you a special thanks for the excellent surgery you performed on my eye

‘This is to give you a special thanks for the excellent surgery you performed on my eye. My sight has greatly improved and I shall be happy to recommend you.’

Two cateract removals at the same time and correction lenses. By the day after the procedure I was reading unaided, and at 4 weeks 20/20 distance vision as well

‘A word to say ‘thank you’. Naturally I felt a little anxious as the day approached but with your realistic information and assurance I went ahead. Two cateract removals at the same time and correction lenses. By the day after the procedure I was reading unaided, and at 4 weeks 20/20 distance vision as well. Thank you so much, the pieces of plastic all thrown away and a clearer, brighter world.’

My sight is still so sharp and clear and it has made me very happy

‘Dear Mr Levy, I just want to thank you again. I am so thrilled with my eyesight and still find it hard to believe that I no longer need glasses. My sight is still so sharp and clear and it has made me very happy. You did a fantastic job and I want you to know how grateful I am.’

Simon Levy was extremely considerate and reassuring and I felt very confident and comfortable with him

‘I had operations for cataracts in both eyes within five days of each other. I did not have a general anaesthetic I chose to have a local which meant that as soon as the operations were over I got up, had something to eat and left the hospital straight away. My husband drove me home and I carried on as normal. The operations were not too painful and the anaesthetist sat next to me and held my hand all through which was very comforting. I do not need to wear glasses any more, just for reading very small print and colours are much clearer – I now find that my light grey trousers are lavender. Simon Levy was extremely considerate and reassuring and I felt very confident and comfortable with him.’

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the wonderful treatment I received

‘I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the wonderful treatment I received whilst having cataracts removed from both eyes at the Spire Hospital. The care I received from both you and your staff made the procedure very easy to accept.’

Thank you so much for restoring my vision

‘Thank you so much for restoring my vision. Now I can see all imperfections! (dust, dirt, road signs etc).’

During my whole treatment I was very happy with excellent care I received by Simon Levy

‘I was diagnosed with a cataract about 5 years ago and had no idea what it was. It steadily became worse until I could hardly see out of my right eye and was relying on my other eye more and more.

My optician referred me to Simon Levy who explained about cataract treatment + various options I could choose + gave me a booklet to read.

After choosing the lens implant I underwent surgery by Simon Levy who saw me both before + after the operation. I was amazed that after a few days my vision was gradually returning in my right eye + I was able to see + read more clearly as time went on.

During my whole treatment I was very happy with excellent care I received by Simon Levy.’

I cannot recommend Mr Levy too highly, as he is a complete expert in his field

‘I was recommended to Mr. Simon Levy by three former very satisfied patients. I have now had both cataracts removed and am equally delighted with the results.
At the initial consultation Mr Levy gave me the confidence to proceed and throughout I received excellent care both during the operations and subsequent reviews.
I cannot recommend Mr Levy too highly, as he is a complete expert in his field.’

Simon soon put me at ease explaining the whole procedure. Here are some words of thanks.

‘I was a little apprehensive about my cataract operation on both my eyes,but Simon soon put me at ease explaining the whole procedure, and I am happy to say all went well, I am now lucky to have 20-20 vision.’

The treatment I received from making the initial appointment to the aftercare was very professional whilst at the same time caring and extremely sympathetic

‘I cannot thank you enough for giving me a new life. I have worn glasses since I was three years old and after being treated by you I no longer need them except to read. I can wear ordinary sunglasses and feel alive. The treatment I received from making the initial appointment to the aftercare was very professional whilst at the same time caring and extremely sympathetic. I am happy and confident to recommend your whole team as absolutely wonderful.

I am quite happy for my name to be associated with this message and I have already recommended you to several friends.
I would also like to say how grateful I am for your decision to write off that last invoice and would like to thank Vanessa for all her kindness during our communications, she was very helpful and understanding.

I hope this finds you well and although I hope it is not for some time yet, I would have no worries about using you again if and when necessary.
Kindest regards
Hilary Raymond’

I would recommend this op to everyone as the results are amazing

‘I am absolutely delighted with the results of my left/right eye surgery in April/May this year. I had cataracts and was fitted with viable lenses. Consequently, I no longer need glasses for long, short or medium vision. I would recommend this op to everyone as the results are amazing. I occasionally have floaters, not bothersome and the halo image. But generally I see fine. Thank you Simon for everything.’

I still can’t believe that I can get up in the middle of the night without groping for my specs

‘I think I was one of Mr Levy’s more skeptical patients, having worn very thick spectacles for nearly 60 years, and I was definitely worried about the outcome of two cataract operations in quick succession. In my religion (Judaism) we say that only G-d is the ultimate and true healer, and the doctor or surgeon as His agent! Well, I certainly found an amazing ‘shliach’ (agent) in Simon Levy, and still can’t believe that I can get up in the middle of the night without groping for my specs, and go to sleep at night without removing contact lenses.
Thank you G-d and Dr Levy!’

The whole experience was a relaxed one and the operation has been a great success.

This lady has keratoconus in her right eye and I performed a cornea transplant to restore her eyesight. She had a left cornea transplant many years previously – long before I trained as a cornea specialist!

‘I met with Simon about 15 months ago and he immediately put me at ease. I was impressed by his professionalism , but also his caring nature and thoroughness.
Simon carried out a cornea transplant in my right eye.I previously had one in my left eye about 20 years ago. My memories from this were not particularly favourable and Simon knew I was anxious. The whole experience was a relaxed one and the operation has been a great success. My vision is really starting to improve.

Simon is now looking at trying to improve my left eye as the vision in this is now starting to deteriorate.

Thank you so much Simon for everything you have done.
p.s. love the ties!’

Both my wife and I have undergone painless cataract surgery under his care with great results

‘For those of you that can remember the scary surgeon Sir Lancelot Spratt of the Carry On films, you will see a very different character with the real life surgeon Simon Levy.
This consultant ophthalmic surgeon will immediately put you at ease during your first consultation; he dispenses attention, kindness, expert assessment, superb surgical skills and post operative care second to none.

Both my wife and I have undergone painless cataract surgery under his care with great results and we are very pleased to have been referred to him.

The only pain that might occur is if you happen to be a non insured patient when it’s time to open your wallet to pay the hospital bills

My daytime job was providing hospital surgical services where over many years I worked with all sorts of medical practitioners, Simon Levy sits high on my list of true professionals.’

The procedure was as painless, unobtrusive, and of such short duration as you said it would be

‘Having just returned from a Rhine river cruise I feel obliged to write and thank you for your greatly enhanced enjoyment made possible by my recent cataract operations.
The sheer brilliance of landscape colours and the length of vision made the majestic river vistas ‘a real eye opener’. I had forgotten such quality of vision could exist until I took your advice to undergo cataract removal from both eyes.

The procedure was as painless, unobtrusive, and of such short duration as you said it would be, and the results, both immediately and after a few weeks of painless self treatment with eye-drops, was nothing less than spectacular.

From my experience I now enthusiastically recommend this treatment whenever cataract interference with sight quality develops and have no hesitation in connecting your name to it.

Please accept my deep gratitude for the new outlook on the world you have given me.’

… having chosen the multifocal lenses I am delighted that I no longer need to wear glasses, even for reading or computer, which I have done for 50 years or so …

‘You have invited me to comment on the recent cataract operation to both my eyes carried out end July and 4 days apart. I am very pleased with the result and having chosen the multi-focal lenses I am delighted that I no longer need to wear glasses, even for reading or computer, which I have done for 50 years or so … I must say that you and your colleague at the consultations were very helpful and told me clearly all details of the procedures. The procedures were quite painless and comfortable and your reassuring voice … and the warm hand of the nurse ..were great … So very many thanks for what was an easy and successful procedure.
Yours sincerely Walter Rosen
… and you can quote me if you wish.’

I soon realised that my vision was improving daily and I felt quite confident to drive after a fortnight, having been assured by Mr. Levy that this was ‘legal’.

This lady had Fuchs and also cataracts. She had combined endothelial cornea transplantation and cataract surgery –

‘When cataracts show up at an annual eye test and surgery may be needed, it is wise to ask to be referred to Mr Simon Levy – at least that’s what I found.

During an eye-test my own optometrist noticed the beginnings of cataracts. He carefully monitored my condition each year until, in 2009, he felt it appropriate to inform my doctor. I spoke to a local friend who had recently had two successful cataract operations, and she recommended Mr. Simon Levy as a kind and efficient surgeon. My GP was happy with her suggestion and referred me to Mr. Levy at Bushey Spire.

At my first appointment with Mr. Levy I was introduced to his very pleasant optometrist, Tony Stanton, who carried out a variety of eye-tests with amazingly high-tech machines. Then Mr. Levy carried out further tests and gently advised me that, although my cataracts were at an early stage, I also had Fuchs’ Dystrophy in each eye which, in two or more years, would need cornea transplants. My. Levy explained that he might combine the cataract/cornea surgery on my left eye, and later on my right eye. I would probably need to have the operation at the Wellington Hospital under a general anaesthetic and to say in overnight and meanwhile he would review me regularly. From the start, I was invited to ask the friend who drove me to Spire to sit in on the consultation when we were always received with courtesy and made to feel at ease. Mr. Levy sent a letter to my GP after each appointment.

The idea that a transplant would come from a human donor tissue was very scary but, by November 2011 when Mr. Levy decided it was the right time to operate, I had become accustomed to the idea and was able to choose March 2012 for the cataract/cornea surgery on my left eye. Mr. Levy carefully explained the procedure and the fact that, just after the operation, my vision would be worse before it became better. I was reassured to read on his web-site that a lady older than my 73 years had had a successful cornea operation. Mr Levy rang me a fortnight before the operation to confirm that I understood and was happy with the plans.

On the afternoon of the operation I checked in, and received excellent care from the Wellington Hospital staff and Mr. Levy, his anaesthetist and his operating team. Afterwards I had to lie flat for several hours and the nursing staff looked after me until I was collected the following morning. Later that day Mr. Levy saw me at Bushey Spire and I was of course relieved when he confirmed that the operation had gone well and that he was pleased with the result. My vision was already better than earlier in the day.

As I had a general anaesthetic, I was advised to take things easy for a few days, which gave me a chance to get more practised at putting the drops in ‘religiously’ as instructed. I can honestly say that, apart from a slight ‘gritty’ feeling in my eye on the first morning, I have not experienced pain. I soon realised that my vision was improving daily and I felt quite confident to drive after a fortnight, having been assured by Mr. Levy that this was ‘legal’. I still have to use the drops, but my several follow-up consultations have been encouraging. My optometrist, who was very impressed with the result of the operation, has prescribed new glasses and the provisional plan is that Mr. Levy will operate on my right eye in March 2012.’

The operations were very successful and I can now read and drive without glasses

‘I was referred to Simon Levy by my optician and was straightaway given a reassuring and detailed explanation of the cataract operations I needed. Simon also gave me a copy of the book which he has written on the subject.
The operations were very successful and I can now read and drive without glasses. As well as his well-known expertise, Simon has a very reassuring and friendly manner and a fine sense of humour.
Judy Price’

I had the treatment where both eyes were done in one operation. It has been a huge success

‘Mr Levy recently removed my cataracts by laser.
I had the treatment where both eyes were done in one operation.
It has been a huge success. Everyone did their part and as soon as it was all over I was able to return home the same day.
Many thanks to all.’

Simon answered all my questions, and quickly dispelled all my fears and doubts.

This patient had keratoconus. When he developed cataract as well, he took the opportunity to have customised surgery to reduce the impact of the keratoconus on his vision –>

‘I have recently had cataracts removed and lens implants. The results are far better than I hoped. Simon answered all my questions and quickly dispelled all my fears and doubts. He and his team could not have been more helpful. Seeing him was one of the best decisions I have ever made.’

Thank you for more of your ‘magical’ treatment it has been a great success

‘Thank you for more of your ‘magical’ treatment it has been a great success.’

He is the consummate professional surgeon and from the beginning I had absolute faith in his expertise and skill

‘From my first consultation with Simon Levy regarding the possibility of cataract surgery, he managed to deal with my many questions and nervousness in a most calm and patient manner. He is the consummate professional surgeon and from the beginning I had absolute faith in his expertise and skill. My two operations were a complete success and I am still in awe that my eyesight has improved so dramatically. From having to wear glasses continually, I only need reading glasses. Such liberation!
I hope my comments will help anyone contemplating this surgery.’

Simon’s words of encouragement did much to quell my anxiety

‘After undergoing major surgery a few months earlier, I viewed the approach of my bilateral cataract operation with some trepidation. From the time of the initial consultation to the actual operation and the subsequent examination, Simon’s words of encouragement did much to quell my anxiety. Thank you Simon for all your care and attention.’

… get it done with Mr Levy – he is somebody who knows what he is doing, he sees you before and after surgery, he listens to your concerns and provides excellent post operative service.

‘If you are thinking of getting laser eye surgery – definitely get it done – it’s amazing. And only get it done with Mr Levy – he is somebody who knows what he is doing, he sees you before and after surgery, he listens to your concerns and provides excellent post operative service. He also has a very kind and helpful team who work with him – right from booking your first consultation to being discharged.’

Better than 20/20!

‘Dear Simon and the team
Better than 20/20!
Many thanks to all for your excellent care.
I look forward to having the other eye done soon.’

My initial visit went smoothly, the operation and care & attention at the hospital was excellent, the after care and follow up appointments were good

Gentleman. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance and reading with Alcon Restor multifocal IOLs

‘My initial visit went smoothly, the operation and care & attention at the hospital was excellent, the after care and follow up appointments were good.
The result of the operation was successful and I now have great vision.’

From the start I had professional guidance and care from Simon Levy who explained everything to me, and reassured and advised me about the procedure. Simon is caring and understanding, his pre and post operation care was outstanding

Lady. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance and reading with Alcon Restor multifocal IOLs

‘I took the opportunity and opted for replacement multifocal lenses, this helped me to manage my day to day life without using glasses, perfect!!
From the start I had professional guidance and care from Simon Levy who explained everything to me, and reassured and advised me about the procedure.
Simon is caring and understanding, his pre and post operation care was outstanding.’

Within a few hours of having the operation, I knew it was a success and within a few days I had wonderful vision.

This patient had complex refractive surgery for his right eye to correct problems from a cornea transplant done decades earlier –

‘Dear Simon
Thank you for giving me details of your website, through this I can express how delighted I am with the attention you gave me.

This site does give me the opportunity to tell anyone that wants to read it, about my experience whilst under your care.

To start at the beginning, I was recommended to you by a very delighted patient of yours, Mr S H.

I was very excited by my first visit to you, and I must firstly praise your attention to detail by your use of a skilled technician to carry out a very thorough examination prior to you seeing me, enabling you to make an in-depth diagnosis of the condition of my eyes.
I was not surprised to hear you tell me I had a cataract, an optician had previously told me about this and an operation was needed. What did surprise me was your opinion that you could restore proper vision to my right eye which I had suffered extreme blurred vision for more than 20 yrs. I had consulted with other ophthalmic surgeons over the years who had told me nothing could be done to improve my sight.

With all due respect and without much hope I had the corrective operation, a ‘piggyback’ lens, which you had said you could not guarantee success.

Within a few hours of having the operation, I knew it was a success and within a few days I had wonderful vision.

I could see, read and have no problem to the eye.
When I saw you a few days later, I called you the ‘miracle man’, and still think so.
I hope I have the opportunity to recommend you to someone else in order that they can have the benefit of your expertise.

I will always be grateful to you for your knowledge and skill.
Best regards.
Yours sincerely,
Wallace Jacobs’

From the very first consultation I had with Mr Levy I felt at ease and very confident that I was in good hands

Gentleman. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance and astigmatism with Rayner toric monofocal IOLs

‘From the very first consultation I had with Mr Levy I felt at ease and very confident that I was in good hands.

As a very nervous person anyway the thought of having surgery on both my eyes was very very scary and worrying. Those feelings were soon put to rest. Both operations were carried out in a relaxed and highly professional manner. I did not feel any discomfort at all through both procedures.

I found both Mr Levy and his team to be highly professional and caring people and definitely made both my operations as pleasant and comfortable as possible.’

I would like you to know there is already an amazing difference between the two eyes. My left eye, the one you operated on, the vision is much sharper and the colours are far more vibrant

Gentleman. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance and reading with Alcon Restor multifocal IOLs

‘Simon good evening. I would like you to know there is already an amazing difference between the two eyes My left eye, the one you operated on, the vision is much sharper and the colours are far more vibrant.
Thank you I am looking forward to getting the right eye sorted with kind regards.’

I am amazed and delighted how well I can see

Lady. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance and astigmatism with Rayner toric monofocal IOLs

‘I just wanted to say thank you for the kind attention that you showed me.
I am amazed and delighted how well I can see.
The whole experience was very good so I just wanted to say thank you.’

It is about a year now that this was done and I could not be more grateful. He not only has the gift of sight as a surgeon but he is a kind and attentive man

Partial cornea transplant (‘Deep Selective Automated Endothelial Transplant’ – DSAEK) for Fuchs

‘I read of the skill of Mr. Simon Levy when I was losing my sight from Fuchs disease and of course I was apprehensive when he recommended a partial cornea transplant.
It is about a year now that this was done and I could not be more grateful. He not only has the gift of sight as a surgeon but he is a kind and attentive man.

I know I will need a further transplant for my other eye at some time, but, I now have no doubts or fears in this respect, since I know I can reply upon Simon.

The value of sight is beyond price but it was also good to discover that the initial cost of the operation included all the follow-up consultations for many months after until both he and I were completely satisfied with the result.
Mrs. J. Bacon’

In my first consultation with My Levy, I was definitively diagnosed and the next steps of my treatment were clearly explained to me. Since then, I have undergone two successful operations under the care of Mr Levy and continue to receive excellent treatment on every visit

Lady. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance with Rayner aspheric monofocal IOLs

‘I was extremely concerned when the sight in one of my eyes began to deteriorate quite suddenly.

In my first consultation with My Levy, I was definitively diagnosed and the next steps of my treatment were clearly explained to me.
Since then, I have undergone two successful operations under the care of Mr Levy and continue to receive excellent treatment on every visit.’

Just to let you know that my mother is thrilled to bits with the fact that she can see again. Your procedure seems to have been 100% successful

‘Good morning,
Just to let you know that my mother is thrilled to bits with the fact that she can see again. Your procedure seems to have been 100% successful.
Thank you.’

Thank you for a successful operation

Lady. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance with Rayner aspheric monofocal IOLs

‘Thank you for a successful operation.’

After relying on glasses for many years I have just had replacement multifocal lenses in both eyes and can’t thank Simon and his team for the care and attention that they gave me.

‘After relying on glasses for many years I have just had replacement multifocal lenses in both eyes and can’t thank Simon and his team for the care and attention that they gave me. Simon explained everything step by step at both the consultation, day of procedure and after care consultations. His professionalism and caring was outstanding. In Simon’s words ‘I would now pass an RAF pilots sight test’. That is something when a few months ago I couldn’t see without glasses.
Thank you again Simon.’

I have no hesitation in recommending any future patient to undergo the operation under local anaesthetic and to have faith in Mr Levy’s judgement

Lady. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance with Rayner aspheric monofocal IOLs

‘I have recently had cataract surgery on both eyes very successfully.
Initially I was a very nervous patient and most concerned that My Levy recommended that the operations be carried out under local anaesthetic.

Right from the first consultation he put me at ease and persuaded me that because of his vast experience in the cataract operation I should have no fears and to put my trust in him.
I’m glad I did. The first operation went extremely successfully and I had no qualms about having the second operation 1 month later.

I have no hesitation in recommending any future patient to undergo the operation under local anaesthetic and to have faith in Mr Levy’s judgement.’

The result of my cataract surgery has transformed my sight, the colours are back and the light floods in. I can thoroughly recommend Simon Levy

Gentleman. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance with Rayner aspheric monofocal IOLs

‘I have just recently had cataract surgery with Simon Levy and from starting as a ‘nervous’ patient I became a very satisfied patient due to Simon’s skill and care.

Simon throughout the process of removing the cataracts and replacing them with plastic lenses in both of my eyes was friendly, reassuring and an excellent surgeon.

The result of my cataract surgery has transformed my sight, the colours are back and the light floods in. I can thoroughly recommend Simon Levy.’

I am now effectively ‘glasses free’ and can read the menu in restaurants while all my friends are hunting for their glasses! I was particularly impressed with the post operative care and treatment

‘I had been watching the various advances in eyesight correction over many years but none were really suited to my circumstances until I read about clear lens replacement. I was referred to Simon by my local optician. As you would expect, I was fairly apprehensive about going ahead with the treatment as, being an Architectural Surveyor, my eyesight is essential to me. However during my initial consultation with Simon he gave me the confidence not only that the treatment was right for me but also in his ability to perform the operation. This confidence was not misplaced. I had a fairly challenging prescription (being +6 long sighted, astigmatic and also at 57 a reading prescription!). I opted for the latest Mplus lenses which have the benefit of a reading correction and am very pleased with the results. I am now effectively ‘glasses free’ and can read the menu in restaurants while all my friends are hunting for their glasses! I was particularly impressed with the post operative care and treatment and any concerns/questions during the recovery period were quickly allayed. I would be more than happy to recommend Simon to anyone else considering this operation.’

Two weeks later I had the second eye done and this time I was not at all worried. The second was just as good as the first and now I have virtually perfect vision, better than I had forty years ago

Gentleman. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance and reading with Alcon Restor multifocal IOLs

‘My cataract procedures: I had an appointment with Simon Levy on 6th September 2009 after my optician had discovered that I had a cataract in my right eye. The sight in that eye had become quite poor and I had difficulty in reading road signs.

After an examination Simon confirmed that there was a cataract in that eye and also a lesser one in the left eye. He explained to me what would happen in a cataract procedure and the risks that were involved. I agreed that both eyes should be done. He said that as I had been wearing multi-focal contact lenses I would be suitable for a multi-focal implant. He explained that this implant would be much more expensive and I said that I was happy to go along with this implant.

I was then taken to the next room by the optometrist and my eyes were measured with the use of some impressive machinery so that the implants could be made. I then made an appointment for the procedure to be done on the 16th and the other eye two weeks later. Simon said that his secretary, Vanessa , would be in touch.

On the 7th Vanessa phoned to say that there had been a cancellation on the 9th at The Wellington and would I like to take that appointment. I jumped at the chance to have it done quickly as my wife and I were going on holiday in early October. I will always remember the date, it was 09/09/09. She made sure that the implant would be ready at such short notice and on the 9th my wife accompanied me to the Wellington.

We were taken to a waiting room which had about eight reclining armchairs each in a bay with curtains which could be drawn if necessary. A nurse administered drops while I waited and then Simon came and explained what would happen. That’s when I had this feeling of trepidation. What if something went wrong and I couldn’t see? I didn’t have much time to worry as I was soon taken to the room where it was all going to happen. I was surprised that I wasn’t required to change into a gown. It was all quite casual and reassuring.
I lay on a bed and Simon once again told me what would happen. I had been given very strong anaesthetic drops and felt nothing in my eye. The procedure took about 15 minutes and Simon talked me through it. There was music playing and I found the whole thing very restful. In fact Simon said that I had kept incredibly still. I was however very pleased when it was over and was told that it had been successful.

I was returned to the waiting room now with a dressing on my eye covered with a plastic eye shield. Simon came to see me and explained that I could remove the dressing when I arrived home and that I must use the drops provided religiously and wear the shield at night to stop me rubbing my eye. This I did. When I was home I removed the dressing and to my relief I could see. My sight was blurred as I was told it would be. The next morning I visited Simon who checked my eye and told me that all had gone according to plan.
The blurring had now all but gone and I could see very well. I was surprised at the colours which were so vivid. One does not realise how ones eyes can deteriorate. I had no pain or even discomfort during or after the procedure. Now I couldn’t wait for the second eye to be done.

Two weeks later I had the second eye done and this time I was not at all worried. The second was just as good as the first and now I have virtually perfect vision, better than I had forty years ago. I no longer need to wear spectacles. I can see to read even the smallest of print and my distance vision is excellent.

I hope, Simon, that you don’t mind me calling you by your first name. I feel I can’t be formal with someone who has given me back my sight.’

Your professional work in carrying out the surgery on my two cataracts has proved very successful

Gentleman. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance with Rayner aspheric monofocal IOLs

‘Your professional work in carrying out the surgery on my two cataracts has proved very successful. In fact my optician and others have said it has proved fantastic.
I have been able to discard my bi-focal spectacles and see so much better now – only depending on spectacles for reading.
Thank you so much for your excellent service.’

It’s been wonderful being able to see properly again – (without lenses/glasses) I’m so happy!!!

‘Thank you so much for doing such a fantastic op on my eyes. It’s been wonderful being able to see properly again – (without lenses/glasses) I’m so happy!!!
Many thanks,
Denise Moon’

I write to thank for your expertise and kind attention before, during, and after my two cataract operations

Gentleman. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance with Rayner aspheric monofocal IOLs

‘I write to thank for your expertise and kind attention before, during, and after my two cataract operations. The results have been better than I would have expected.’

It wasn’t anything like as bad as I imagined it would be and the running commentary you gave was both helpful and reassuring. I was also very reassured to have my hand held all through the procedure by one of the nurses

Gentleman. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance with Rayner aspheric monofocal IOLs

‘Cataract surgery was not something I was familiar with and it rather crept up on me, indeed I was horrified to discover that I was only just legal to drive.

The consultations were helpful and reassuring, as were the booklets you gave me.
Like, I think, many other people, I have always had a horror of having my eyes messed about with so quite where I found the resolution to go ahead for the surgery with just a local anaesthetic I have no idea. But it wasn’t anything like as bad as I imagined it would be and the running commentary you gave was both helpful and reassuring. I was also very reassured to have my hand held all through the procedure by one of the nurses. I don’t know whether this is common practice or just something you have developed. Either way I found it very helpful.

The post-operative check ups were also very good and thorough and the additional treatment I required because of the problem surface of my eye was rapidly sorted out and it worked.

The only thing I would add is that it would be great if someone could develop a way of doing away with the 4 weeks of eyedrops, which gets a bit irksome in the end.
Thanks for your good care.’

Thank you so much for your magical work. It seems like a miracle every morning when I wake up and can see without my glasses.

‘Thank you so much for your magical work. It seems like a miracle every morning when I wake up and can see without my glasses. I really appreciate your time and care.’

I am extremely grateful for his attention and for the successful outcome of restoring my vision

Lady. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance with Rayner aspheric monofocal IOLs

‘After having my eyesight monitored for a number of years by my Optician, I was eventually advised that the cataracts developing had reached the stage where they needed remedial action.

Accepting this verdict; I consider myself very fortunate to have been recommended to seek treatment from Simon Levy; immediately at my first consultation I was given the fullest confidence from the information he gave me together with a copy of his publication ‘Understanding Cataract’, that he completely understood the treatment I required and that he would be able to carry this out on both eyes in one operation.

I am now pleased to confirm that he made the necessary arrangements without delay and the procedure was carried out with the minimum discomfort and pain one could anticipate for such a delicate manoeuvre.

I am extremely grateful for his attention and for the successful outcome of restoring my vision.’

I now enjoy 20/20 vision and the only aid I now need is prescription spectacles for reading

Gentleman. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance with Rayner aspheric monofocal IOLs

‘Having suffered deteriorating eyesight for a number of years, I went to see Simon Levy. After a most extensive testing, Simon told me that I needed to have cataracts removed in both eyes. Two dates were agreed in December and with a high degree of trepidation I headed to the Wellington Hospital.

The care I received there was excellent and after 30 minutes in the theatre, my left eye was fitted with a new long distance lens. Seven days later the procedure was repeated in the right eye. A month later Simon again examined my eyes and gave me the all clear. I now enjoy 20/20 vision and the only aid I now need is prescription spectacles for reading.
I can honestly state that the anticipation was far worse than the event and I am delighted with the result of the procedure.

Sidney – a very satisfied patient.’

I was so pleased with the results of the operation on my left eye that it was obvious that what I had previously thought of as my good eye i.e. my right was in fact not as good in comparison to my ‘new’ left eye and I therefore I had no hesitation in making arrangements for Simon to operate on my right eye. This he did some two months later with equal success and the operation was as painless as before

Gentleman. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance with Rayner aspheric monofocal IOLs

‘I am a 51 year old surveyor and keen golfer living in the Watford area who to be honest had noticed that my eyesight had been deteriorating over the past few years but for various reasons had decided not to do anything about it and assumed it was all part of getting older!. This deterioration was particularly noticeable when working at the computer, reading maps, telephone directories etc and menu’s which was especially infuriating for my wife especially when light levels were less than perfect. Eventually I got around to having my eyes tested at my regular optician only to be diagnosed as having cataracts in both eyes with my left eye being most affected. I was surprised to receive this diagnosis as I thought cataract was a condition I might have in my 70’s or older as my mother had both eyes operated on for this condition in her late 70’s.

With the diagnosis made I took advice and researched the web following which at least I knew that cataract surgery was a fairly routine operation. I decided to have my left eye operated on as soon as possible assuming that my right eye was my “good” eye and that this one could would be fine until some time in the future.

My wife, a G.P. had attended a talk given by Simon Levy and was sufficiently impressed such that I was referred to him by my GP and arrangements were made for an initial evening consultation at the Spire Bushey Hospital. At that consultation I had a really thorough examination of both eyes by Simon’s colleague Tony (the technology was state of the art) which confirmed I had a fairly advanced ‘young person’s’ cataract in my left eye and a less severe one in my right.

My wife and I then had plenty of time to discuss with Simon the options available to me including the types of replacement lens, types of anaesthetic, the operating procedure and how long the operation might last etc etc .By then I had no hesitation in confirming to Simon that I would like him to do the operation and it was scheduled for three weeks hence at the Spire Bushey Hospital.

On the day of the operation I arrived at the hospital as requested at 9.00 and following a brief chat with the consultant anaesthetist and a course of four sets of eye drops I was ready to be taken to the operating theatre. While waiting to go in Simon came and spent a few minutes talking to me explaining what to expect and asking whether I had any questions or concerns which I personally found reassuring.

The operation as advised previously was completely painless and took no longer than about 15 minutes which is what I had been told to expect. Simon gave a commentary throughout, which I found helpful and reassuring, of how the operation was progressing.. Afterwards I spent about 20-30 minutes in post op before being seen again by Simon to check all was well before being discharged and I was home by 12.30 and able to play golf the following day.

Within days of the operation I noticed a huge improvement in vision in my left eye and became aware that colours were now brighter and sharper with images less blurred than before … it was as if I had suddenly subscribed to and was watching high definition television … at least through my left eye. Four days after the operation I had a further short consultation with Simon and some tests carried out that confirmed that the operation had been completely successful, something which I had already realised.
I was so pleased with the results of the operation on my left eye that it was obvious that what I had previously thought of as my good eye i.e. my right was in fact not as good in comparison to my “new” left eye and I therefore I had no hesitation in making arrangements for Simon to operate on my right eye. This he did some two months later with equal success and the operation was as painless as before and Simon was as professional, caring and reassuring and understanding throughout the whole procedure.’

From the initial visit, through the procedure and subsequent follow ups Mr Levy has earned my greatest respect and gratitude. He has golden hands and to top it all he is a real gentleman

Lady. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance, reading and astigmatism with Rayner M-Flex toric multifocal IOLs

‘Those who do their research properly, find the right man – we did.
Mr Simon Levy has carried out 6 cataract operations on two close relatives and now on my own eyes.
The results are truly amazing I can both read and drive unaided. I was fully informed and reassured throughout. From the initial visit, through the procedure and subsequent follow ups Mr Levy has earned my greatest respect and gratitude. He has golden hands and to top it all he is a real gentleman.’

Just wanted to say thank you so much for your amazing treatment on our eyes

‘Dear Simon
Just wanted to say thank you so much for your amazing treatment on our eyes. You definitely have an eye for this!
We will continue to recommend your excellent service and wish you lots of success.
Love from
Benjamin & Zaileen Hewins’

I can now see perfectly out of both eyes and glasses are a thing of the past. My grateful thanks to Simon and his team at the Wellington Hospital

Lady. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance with Rayner aspheric monofocal IOLs

‘I was apprehensive about my two cataract operations, however Simon Levy helped to put my mind at rest through a procedure that was handled with the utmost care and caused minimal stress. I can now see perfectly out of both eyes and glasses are a thing of the past. My grateful thanks to Simon and his team at the Wellington Hospital.’

… the way everything was carried out in every way, consultation to operation with such attention to detail. Well done and a big thank you Sir! You are an asset to Ophthalmology

Gentleman. Both cataracts treated. Surgery customised for distance and reading with Alcon Restor multifocal IOLs

‘I cannot find words to describe how this whole operation has been carried out. Perhaps it is PERFECTION PLUS and efficiency. Going back to the very beginning i.e. the way everything was carried out in every way, consultation to operation with such attention to detail. Well done and a big thank you Sir! You are an asset to Ophthalmology.’

I wish to thank Dr. Simon G. Levy and his team for a perfect surgery

‘It will be our pleasure to make this small contribution to express my feelings about surgery.
I realise that I was an extremely difficult case , -16 on one eye and half of it on the other very bad cataract and astigmatisms on both eyes.
Surgery was carried out on both eyes at the same time to my delight and took no more than 90 min.
Cataract was removed and two new permanent correction lenses inserted and all under local anaesthetic and on top of that in a extremely warm and pleasant environment.
I wish to thank Dr. Simon G. Levy and his team for a perfect surgery.
Also I would like to stress that your careful and detailed explanations and your warmth and that I felt FULLY taken care of and one only and very important. That also helps surgery.’

Just to let you know that I’m extremely satisfied with my new vision. I’m still getting used to looking at individual leaves on the trees…

‘Many thanks for your professional care and attention. Just to let you know that I’m extremely satisfied with my new vision. I’m still getting used to looking at individual leaves on the trees (my glasses were never strong enough) and individual bricks in distant walls not to mention clouds and vapour trails; all everyday sights but very much improved post surgery. I received your letter and apologise for not having replied previously but was snowed under in work. You asked if I could make a contribution to your website. Below is my suggestion. Please feel free to use it if suitable! There was a consultant called Simon who decided, you need a new eye ‘mon’. There’s no need to fear I’ll fix your cornea and give you sight to rely on. There’s no situation so dire that cannot be fixed at the Spire! So lay yourself down on the table we’ll be ready and able for vision you’ll always admire. Once again thank you’